FAQs

General Principles

Magic

Movement

Shooting

Combat

The Psychology of War

Universal Special Rules

Skirmishers and Unusual Formations

Troop Types

Characters

Challenges

Weapons Of War

War Machines

Battlefield Terrain

Warhammer Armies

Warhammer Battles

Lores Of Magic

Magic Items

Beastmen Brayherds

Chaos Dwarfs

Daemons of Chaos

Dark Elves

Dwarfen Mountain Holds

Empire of Man

Grand Cathay

High Elf Realms

Kingdom of Bretonnia

Lizardmen

Ogre Kingdoms

Orc & Goblin Tribes

Skaven

Tomb Kings of Khemri

Vampire Counts

Warriors of Chaos

Wood Elf Realms

.1 Matched Play Guide

When do you place your additional wood from the "Woodland Ambush" rule?
After deciding the sides, but before deploying any unit.
Source:
Square Based
Can a unit arrayed in Close Order or Open Order formation be one model wide?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a spell has two Casting Values, do I have to say which I'm attempting to cast the spell at before making my Casting roll?
No, your casting result determines the 'strength' of the spell. In other words, the higher your casting result, the more power the spell will have and the greater its effect will be.
Source:
Official FAQ
Is a unit's maximum possible charge range the maximum distance from an enemy unit at which it can declare a charge, or the maximum distance it can move when making a charge move?
It is the maximum distance from an enemy unit at which it can declare a charge.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a unit on a hill draw a line of sight across and shoot over another unit on the same hill?
A unit that is closer to the top of a hill (i.e., the centre of the hill or the edge of the battlefield) can draw a line of sight across and shoot over one that is closer to the bottom. Units cannot draw a line of sight across or shoot over units that are closer to the top of a hill than they are.
Source:
Official FAQ
My unit charges an enemy unit that is defending a low linear obstacle, making base contact with the obstacle rather than the unit. Can my unit make Impact Hits or Stomp Attacks?
No. Models must be in base contact with the enemy to make Impact Hits or Stomp Attacks.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a model has Armour Bane (X) listed amongst its special rules (i.e., if the model has the special rule itself rather than a weapon it carries having it), does it apply to Impact Hits or Stomp Attacks?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Do Skirmishers have flank or rear arcs whilst engaged in combat?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
A character mounted on a ridden monster or a chariot can choose to use their own or their mount's armour value, whichever is better. If the character wears magic armour but I choose to use the mount's armour value, can I still claim other benefits conferred by the magic armour?
No. You must use a magic item fully or not at all.
Source:
Official FAQ
If one participant in a challenge causes Impact Hits or makes Stomp Attacks, where are they directed?
Impact Hits are resolved prior to issuing challenges. Stomp Attacks may be directed against the other participant in the challenge.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a cannon be shot in such a way as to hit an enemy unit that is engaged in combat with a friendly unit?
No. Page 143 of the rulebook makes it clear that, except in rare cases, units cannot shoot enemy units that are engaged in combat. In the case of cannon, this means the target point cannot be placed in such a way as to risk the cannonball hitting a friendly unit, or an enemy unit engaged in combat with a friendly unit.
Source:
Official FAQ
When deploying armies, must units be placed completely within their deployment zone?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does the Spectral Doppelganger spell interact with weapons that have either the Strike First or Strike Last special rule?
The spell is cast at the Wizard's Initiative, meaning attacks generated by the spell are made at the Wizard's Initiative. However, if the casting Wizard wishes to use a weapon with the Strike Last special rule, those attacks are made at Initiative 1.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a Wizard wears the Wizarding hat, does it increase their Level of Wizardry?
No. As stated in the item's description, the wearer of the Wizarding Hat is a Level 1 Wizard and knows one randomly generated spell. This is clearly a huge detriment to a powerful Wizard, but might be a boon to any character that is not a Wizard.
Source:
Official FAQ
If the musician and/or standard bearer in a unit of Slayers are models that have been upgraded to Giant Slayers, what happens if they are slain, is their instrument and/or standard picked up by another Giant Slayer or by a Troll Slayer?
It rather depends on the models that remain in the unit. If any Giant Slayers remain, they will pick up the instrument or standard, replacing the slain models like for like. If no Giant Slayers remain, a Troll Slayer will take their place. Note also that Giant Slayers are not unit champions. Thus in a unit of Slayers, the standard bearer would be the last model removed.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does the Griffon Standard allow a unit to claim a higher Rank Bonus than normal for its troop type?
Yes. As stated in the item's rules, a unit carrying the Griffon Standard can claim a Rank Bonus of +2 for each extra rank behind the first, rather than the usual +1, meaning a unit with two extra ranks could claim a Rank Bonus of +4, rather than the usual +2.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a character whose mount has a different sized base to the models in a unit making up a Lance formation wishes to join that unit, where should I place the model?
The Lance formation offers a bit more flexibility than other formations. For example, it is perfectly acceptable to place a character such as a Duke or a Baron at the front of the Lance should you wish. In the case of a Handmaiden of the Lady, the Shield of the Lady special rule allows such models to be placed at the rear of such units. Alternatively, they can be placed within the unit. In this case, the extra base size will make very little difference to the shape of the unit.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can the size of a range 'self' spell's aura of effect be increased by the Idol of Gork?
No. The aura of effect of a range 'self' spell is not its range.
Source:
Official FAQ
When targeting a War Machine with Petrifying Gaze, what initiative value should be used to substitute for the target's toughness?
Use the Initiative Value of the Crew
Source:
Square Based
Can the Infernal Puppet be used against a Bound spell?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does a unit count as being obscured when some of the models within it are behind others?
No. A unit cannot be obscured from the enemy by itself.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a Remains in Play spell with two Casting Values is cast at the higher value, which is used when trying to dispel it during the Conjuration sub-phase?
As stated on page 111, in order to dispel a Remains in Play spell during your Conjuration sub-phase, you must beat the minimum casting value given in the spell's description. This is the case even if the spell was cast at the higher of two given casting values.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a unit performs a manoeuvre, can its front edge pass through another unit?
No. The only exception to this is when a unit pivots.
Source:
Official FAQ
Some chariots are equipped with large scale missile weapons such as bolt throwers. Who shoots such weapons; the crew, the beasts that draw the chariot, or the chariot itself?
Missile weapons mounted on chariots (or howdahs) are shot by the crew, using their Ballistic Skill.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Close Order unit of just one model claim the Close Order combat result bonus?
Yes, provided it has a high enough Unit Strength (as per the errata on page 1). A unit of just one model is still a unit.
Source:
Official FAQ
Some mounted models have the Counter Charge special rule but others do not, even though they have the same type of mount. Is this intentional?
Yes. Counter Charge is a rule that represents the skill and ferocity of the rider, not their mount. In other words, not every rider is willing or able to perform a counter charge, regardless of their mount.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens if there is not enough space to form up the rear ranks of a unit of Skirmishers that has been charged (IE: Due to terrain, the board edge, or other models?)
Nudge the units the smallest amount possible until all skirmishers are able to form up behind the fighting rank.
Source:
Square Based
If I have a character with an armour value of 6+ mounted on a chariot with an armour value of 4+, for example, am I obliged to use the chariot's armour value?
No, you choose whichever armour value is better. However, allowing for magical armour and other special rules, 'better' is somewhat subjective. Obviously an armour value of 4+ is better than one of 6+ but there is often more to deciding which armour to use than just the armour value it offers, many types of magic armour confer additional bonuses that make them better. Basically, when the rules say choose they are giving you a choice.
Source:
Official FAQ
If Harald Gemunsen issues a second challenge using his Skilled Duellist special rule, he can fight again immediately. Can his opponent in that challenge fight again?
Yes. If Harald's second challenge is accepted it is fought immediately, meaning both Harald and his opponent can fight. However, Harald's mount may not fight, and nor may his opponent's.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a war machine shoot using the Ballistic Skill of a character that has joined it?
No. Because a war machine and its crew are treated as a single model, you must use the crew's BS.
Source:
Official FAQ
Do you need to declare if units with the Scouts or Ambushers special rules will use those rules before deployment begins?
No. Ambushers and Scouts are declared simply by not having been deployed when you place your Characters.
Source:
Square Based
If the spell Arcane Urgency is used to move a unit with Random Movement, can the unit move into contact with an enemy unit?
No. Whilst a unit with Random Movement can move into base contact with an enemy unit during the Compulsory Moves sub-phase, Arcane Urgency causes units to move when the spell is cast, during the Remaining Moves sub-phase.
Source:
Official FAQ
Do potions affect a model's mount?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit bearing a standard inscribed with the Master Rune of Hesitation Falls Back in Good Order and is pursued and caught by an enemy unit, does the rune take effect?
Yes. When a pursuing unit catches an enemy unit that Fell Back in Good Order, it counts as having charged that unit.
Source:
Official FAQ
Before a Steam Tank charges, can it use the Steam Power special rule to increase its Movement?
No. The Steam Power special rule can be used by a Steam Tanks, a model that cannot march, instead of marching. In other words, in instances where most models or units would increase their movement by marching, a Steam Tank can instead make use of the Steam Power special rule. Charging is not such an instance.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Bretonnian army pray for the Blessing of the Lady if it includes an allied contingent?
Yes. However, an allied contingent of Bretonnians taken as part of any other army cannot pray. In order for Bretonnians to pray, the army they are part of must have the Blessings of the Lady rule, which only Kingdom of Bretonnia armies have.
Source:
Official FAQ
When shooting a Doom Diver catapult, the template can be moved D3" after scattering. Can I use this to move the template so that it hits an enemy character that is within 3" of a unit, a character that could not usually be targeted by shooting?
Yes. The template must be moved the full distance rolled on the D3 but, if that allows you to position it to hit an enemy character, you may do so. Sneaky Goblin Doom Divers steer their flight in an attempt to hit the best possible target, so this is completely in character.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does the 'Resurrecting the Fallen' ability work with units in Skirmish formation?
Follow the same order for recovering wounds as for a rank and file unit. However resurrected models must be placed within 1" coherancy of a model that was alive at the start of the phase. Models that cannot be placed are lost.
Source:
Square Based
Can the effect of Warped Form be applied to a unit multiple times at once?
Yes, the ability stacks until it expires.
Source:
Square Based
Can different saves be combined together to improve their save value? For example, if a model has two Ward saves, can they be combined to give a single Ward save with a better Warding value?
No, values given as a target number cannot be combined to lower the target number. If a model has two or more Ward saves, as per the example, simply use the best.
Source:
Official FAQ
How many Remains in Play spells can I attempt to dispel during my Conjuration sub-phase?
As many as you wish, or, peaps more accurately, as many as your opponent has in play and as many as you are able.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a unit wheels, is it acceptable for a rear corner to pass through another unit?
Yes, provided the unit does not end its movement 'on top' of another unit or within 1" of an enemy unit.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens to a unit that Gives Ground whilst within 2" of the edge of the battlefield?
Should any part of a unit cross beyond the edge of the battlefield whilst it is Giving Ground, the entire unit is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a unit Counter Charges, it rolls D3+1 to determine how far it moves. Is this roll counted as a Charge roll?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does an entire unit of skirmishers count as having moved for the purposes of shooting if one model moves?
No. Determine the penalty on a model by model basis.
Source:
Square Based
If a character mounted on a ridden monster or chariot carries a shield, does that improve the mount's armour value?
No, a shield is carried by the character, not the mount.
Source:
Official FAQ
Do attacks with the Multiple Wounds (X) special rule apply for overkill against unit champions?
Yes
Source:
Square Based
If a war machine breaks and flees from combat and is destroyed due to the "We're Not Paid to Fight" rule, can the enemy unit overrun?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
Are victory points cumulative if a unit flees and is below 25% of its starting size?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
Can a unit that has already moved prior to the Remaining Moves phase use a spell like Arcane Urgency to move again?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
If the Scroll of Transmogrification is successfully used against a Wizard mounted on a ridden monster (a Dragon, for example), what happens to the mount?
The Wizard is transmogrified, but not their mount. In the example given, you would be left with a Frog riding a Dragon.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a model with the Slayer, Slayer of Daemons or Slayer of Dragons special rule hits an enemy unit using the Deathblow special rule, does that hit benefit from the Slayer special rule?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens if a unit in Lance formation that declares a charge finds its movement blocked by the presence of an enemy unit to its flank, where the unit gets wider?
Such situations are covered by the rules for Accidental Contact During a Charge. If the Lance can wheel around the enemy unit, it should do so. If not, the Lance has two choices; halting its charge or continuing ahead and making contact with the enemy unit, treating it as a redirected charge.
Source:
Official FAQ
How are Victory Points scored for a Night Goblin unit that includes one or more Fanatics once its Fanatic(s) have been released?
Fanatics are an upgrade for the unit; their cost is included when working out VP for the unit itself. In other words, the death of an individual Fanatic is not worth any VP, but destroying the unit it was concealed within will earn you the VP for the Fanatic as part of the unit's points cost.
Source:
Official FAQ
When using the 'Resurrecting the Fallen' ability, what happens if there is not sufficient room for the raised models (Due to Terrain, Enemy models, the board edge, etc?)
If the resurrected models cannot be placed, they are lost.
Source:
Square Based
During a "Warriors Duel" (Wolves of the Sea Special rule) when a unit champion is killed before the game begins, are they killed and removed from play for the rest of the game?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
If a specific natural roll triggers an effect, is that effect still triggered if the dice is re-rolled and the re-roll gives a different result?
No. When you re-roll a dice the previous roll is discarded. This includes any effects that roll may have triggered.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens to a Remains in Play spell that is already in effect if the Wizard that cast it attempts to cast it again?
It ends immediately.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit will have to wheel before or during a charge, do I have to allow for that when declaring and measuring the charge?
Yes. Wheeling during a charge is part of the charge move. The free wheel to align once contact is made is free.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens to a unit that cannot Give Ground due to the presence of another unit?
The unit's movement stops immediately, as if it were surrounded.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit charged by two or more enemy units Counter Charges one of them, it may end its movement presenting a different arc to the other charging unit(s). Do those units resolve their charges against those arcs?
Yes. When a unit Counter Charges, it risks exposing its flanks or rear to the enemy, such are the perils of bravado.
Source:
Official FAQ
What does it mean when a unit in Skirmish formation "forms up" when engaged in combat?
A unit in Skirmish formation in combat adopts a rank and file formation as described on p.185. During combat this means that it has a "flank" and a "rear" for the purposes of charging, but not for combat resolution. It retains this formation until it is no longer engaged in combat, at which point it will return to its Skirmishing formation (or may, if reforming following a successful test to restrain, overrun or FBIGO, change to another formation available to it.) Note that a unit that returns to Skirmish formation or reforms to Skirmish formation from rank and file is not able to "spread out" to 1" coherency, but will remain base to base until it can move apart in a future turn.
Source:
Square Based
Does the presence in a unit of a character whose base takes up the space of two or more models in two or more ranks reduce that unit's rank bonus?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
When is a character or champion unable to decline a challenge?
‘Nowhere to Run’ on Rulebook, p. 211 states that a character or champion cannot refuse a challenge if: They are not part of a unit, or they are the last remaining model in a unit. They are part of a unit which is engaged in all four of its arcs (i.e., a unit that is completely surrounded).
Source:
Square Based
Can a cannon choose a point on the base of a model with Large Target if LOS cannot be drawn to the model's base due to intervening models?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
For unit upgrades that create separate units on the table (IE: Fanatics, Skaven Weapon Teams, Cathay Ogre Loaders) do I have to kill the parent unit as well to score the victory points for them?
Yes. Note that if the parent unit is destroyed but the spawned units are alive, you will still recieve full points for all of the costs of that unit.
Source:
Square Based
What happens if a Scroll of Transmogrification is used on a Bound spell?
After testing against the item's Power Level (in place of its Level of Wizardry), it may be turned into an inanimate frog, rendering it useless until it turns back. During each Start of Turn sub-phase, you may roll a D6 for each transmogrified item in your army to see if it returns to normal, as described on page 343.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a unit with Defensive Stakes be hit by Impact Hits or Stomp Attacks by a charging enemy?
Yes. Whilst the stakes might do tremendous damage to 'cavalry' and 'chariots' the momentum of such models when they charge will carry them into the archers, although they may be turned to kindling in the attempt.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit of Night Goblins that is engaged in combat still contains any unreleased Fanatics, can they be released whilst the unit is engaged?
Provided they can be placed within 3" of their concealing unit and not touching the bases of any other models, yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does the 'Resurrecting the Fallen' ability work with units in Skirmish formation?
Follow the same order for recovering wounds as for a rank and file unit. However resurrected models must be placed within 1" coherancy of a model that was alive at the start of the phase. Models that cannot be placed are lost.
Source:
Square Based
If I mark the position of a unit then proceed to move it before putting it back where it was and moving it again, does this count as a take-back?
Yes, absolutely.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a model wearing armour or carrying a shield cast a Bound spell?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Although it cannot make a charge move, a unit in Marching Column can declare a charge. Why is this?
There are several reasons. Firstly, a Drilled unit that declares a charge whilst in Marching Column can freely redress its ranks to adopt Combat Order after determining its charge range, but before moving, thus allowing it to make a charge move. Secondly, units that are obliged to declare a charge in certain circumstances (those that are Frenzied or Impetuous, for example) must do so even whilst in Marching Column. If they cannot make the charge move, they don't move at all and the charge is failed. This prevents Marching Column being used to avoid declaring compulsory charges. Alternatively, there might be a psychological advantage to declaring a charge with a Marching Column. For example, the unit might cause Terror, or the charge target might already be fleeing. Of course, it isn't easy to set up situations where such tactics can be used and therein lies the challenge.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens if a unit that wishes to make a pursuit or overrun move cannot move due to the presence of other units?
It may happen that it is simply impossible for a pursuing or overrunning unit to move without it ending up on top' of another unit. In such cases, the unit does not move, but is considered to have made a pursuit or overrun move.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit whose troop type is 'infantry' that has been joined by a character whose troop type is 'cavalry' charges an enemy unit with the Counter Charge special rule, can that unit Counter Charge?
No. A unit's troop type doesn't change when joined by a character.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a Skirmisher is moving "directly towards or directly away" - how do you pivot them about their centre?
Find the centre of the skirmishing unit and pivot each indivdual model, moving them all parallell to the centre line towards or away as need be.
Source:
Square Based
A Clumsy unit cannot be joined by a character that is not also Clumsy, but can a Clumsy character join a unit that is not Clumsy?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
The Errata for Challenges & Mounts states "if either participant is slain before their rival or a mount can make an attack, those attacks are lost." How does this work?
If the enemy challenger is slain before either the mount or rider can make at least one attack, the attacks of the components that haven't made at least one attack are lost. This means that if your Dragon makes at least one of their attacks, the Dragon can make all of its attacks (including stomps).
Source:
Square Based
For the purposes of the Bombardment Special Rule, is the minimum range measured to the closest point of the unit or to the centre of the unit?
Measure to the closest point of the target unit.
Source:
Square Based
Can a Wizard with a Lore Familiar choose one of their faction's signature spells instead of the signature spell of their chosen lore?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a unit in Lance formation is engaged in combat, every model on the outside counts as being in base contact. How many enemy models count as being in base contact with the Lance?
The full fighting rank. When a Lance charges, it pierces deep into the enemy formation, causing the enemy lines to close around it. It's very hard to show this on the table though, hence the abstraction. Note that this can create an area of 'dead ground' between a Lance and a unit it is engaged in combat with. If any enemy units are caught within this, refer to the rules covering 'accidental contact' on page 131 of the Waammer: the Old World rulebook.
Source:
Official FAQ
If I upgrade a unit of Boar Boyz to be Big 'Uns, do their War Boars benefit as well?
Yes. Note that the Strength characteristic of Big 'Uns is modified whilst they are engaged in combat, and that Impact Hits are made using the model's unmodified Strength characteristic.
Source:
Official FAQ
If some of my opponent's attacks cause multiple Wounds to be lost per unsaved wound they cause, in what order are those unsaved wounds applied to my unit?
Apply unsaved wounds to a unit one at a time and one model at a time. When a model is reduced to zero Wounds on its profile, it is removed from play as a casualty (as described on page 102). If a model loses more Wounds than it has on its profile, the excess wounds are lost - they do not spill over onto other models in the same unit. With this in mind, apply unsaved wounds that cause models to lose all of their remaining Wounds first (Killing Blows and Monster Slaying Blows, for example), then unsaved wounds that cause multiple Wounds to be lost (Multiple Wounds (X), for example), then, finally, unsaved wounds that cause a single Wound to be lost.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Wizard attempt to dispel a Bound spell by attempting a Wizardly dispel?
If the Wizard is within range of the model casting the Bound spell and not otherwise prevented from attempting a Wizardly dispel, yes. As stated on page 109, you may attempt to dispel a Bound spell as usual.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a Drilled unit in Marching Column has to declare a charge due to being Frenzied or Impetuous, can it choose not to use Drilled to redress the ranks and adopt combat order?
If it is able to redress the ranks (i.e., if there is space for it to do so), no. A unit that is obliged to charge must endeavour to make use of any special rules it has in order to charge. The unit just really wants to charge, and it'll play this game without you if it has to!
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit completely destroys its enemy in combat and makes an overrun move, can it attempt to reform after moving?
Unless it pursued into a fresh enemy, yes. A unit that overruns makes a normal pursuit move and, since its enemy has already been wiped out, it may attempt to reform as if it had run down its foe, as described on page 129.
Source:
Official FAQ
How far does a model with the Random Movement special rule move when making a Counter Charge?
As stated in the Counter Charge special rule, a model that makes a Counter Charge moves D3+1".
Source:
Official FAQ
The italic text for figure 186.3 seems to contradict the "Formed Units Charging Skirmishers" subheading. Which is correct?
Ignore the italicized text for figure 186.3. Following the normal charge rules you take the shortest and straightest path to make contact. You are not obliged to move your unit directly towards the closest skirmisher.
Source:
Square Based
Does a unit that is joined by a character of a different troop type gain the rules associated with the character's troop type?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
Warmachines are entitled to pivot during their controller's turn "to better face the enemy". What does this mean?
Simply, a warmachine may make a pivot once during their turn freely to facilitate their shooting attacks. This does not empower them to pivot after they shoot to hide.
Source:
Square Based
How many spells does a Wizard with an Arcane Familiar know? For example, does a Level 3 Wizard know three spells from two Lores (two from one and one from the other), or six spells, three from each Lore?
An Arcane Familiar does not increase the number of spells a Wizard knows, it simply allows them to know spells from two Lores. Thus a Level 3 Wizard would know three spells from two Lores.
Source:
Official FAQ
Is a charging Lance blunted if an enemy unit counter charges it?
No. As both units are charging, the clause that a Lance is blunted if it is charged and does not counter charge is negated.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can the Glowy Green Amulet be used by a character that isn't a Wizard?
Yes. The Glowy Green Amulet is a talisman, meaning any character that can take magic items can take it. However, if they wish to use it against an enemy spell, they do so instead of a Wizardly dispel attempt being made. This means that you cannot also attempt a Wizardly dispel against a spell you use the Glowy Green Amulet against, even if the Glowy Green Amulet explodes.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does a Close Order unit of just one model act, is it still a Close Order formation, or does it act like a Skirmisher?
A Close Order unit always acts as such, even if it only contains a single model.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Wizard with a physical attribute that 'counts as' a type of armour (such as a Treeman Ancient's arboreal armour) make Casting or Dispel rolls?
Yes. Whilst such attributes are as protective as a suit of armour, such models do not wear armour.
Source:
Official FAQ
If I want to charge an enemy unit that is a Large Target with a unit of mine that is in its front arc (for example) but cannot because the enemy unit is already engaged in its front arc, can I instead charge its flank?
No. Sometimes a charge isn't possible.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a rule states that a given value is "always a success, regardless of the target's (Weapon Skill or Toughness), do modifiers still affect the dice roll? IE: Seal of Parravon, or Slayer?
Yes. These rules refer to a roll on the To Hit or To Wound table before modifiers (i.e., the result after consulting the table, not the natural dice roll). Modifiers are applied as normal.
Source:
Square Based
Can a Drilled unit redress the ranks before Giving Ground?
Yes. A unit that Gives Ground is not a fleeing unit. Note that, as mentioned previously, should any part of a unit cross beyond the edge of the battlefield whilst it is Giving Ground, the entire unit is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed. It is intentional that a Drilled unit might be able to avoid this fate.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a unit of skirmishers equipped with missile weapons fires at an enemy, do members of the shooting unit obscure for purposes of line of sight? Additionally, is this sufficient to grant cover to the target unit?
Yes, the models within a skirmishing unit block line of sight. However, the target of a shooting attack may not claim a cover modifier solely because of the presence of intervening models within the unit that is making the shot.
Source:
Square Based
Can a character who is within the fighting rank of their unit but not in base contact with the enemy move through the ranks so that they are?
No. Characters can move through the ranks into the fighting rank, but cannot move within the fighting rank.
Source:
Official FAQ