FAQs

General Principles

Magic

Movement

Shooting

Combat

The Psychology of War

Universal Special Rules

Skirmishers and Unusual Formations

Troop Types

Characters

Challenges

Weapons Of War

War Machines

Battlefield Terrain

Warhammer Armies

Warhammer Battles

Lores Of Magic

Magic Items

Beastmen Brayherds

Chaos Dwarfs

Daemons of Chaos

Dark Elves

Dwarfen Mountain Holds

Empire of Man

Grand Cathay

High Elf Realms

Kingdom of Bretonnia

Lizardmen

Ogre Kingdoms

Orc & Goblin Tribes

Skaven

Tomb Kings of Khemri

Vampire Counts

Warriors of Chaos

Wood Elf Realms

.1 Matched Play Guide

What happens if a Hit is rolled on the Scatter dice for an object that moves in a random direction, do I use the small arrow on the Hit icon to determine the direction?
Essentially, objects that move in a random direction scatter, as described on page 95. Such objects only move in the direction shown by the small arrow on the Hit icon if the rules tell you they do so. Otherwise, the object does not move.
Source:
Official FAQ
How many spells can a Wizard attempt to cast during a single phase? For example, if a Wizard knows a Magical Vortex and a Magic Missile, can they attempt to cast both during the same Shooting phase
A Wizard can only cast a number of spells up to their Level of Wizardry per turn, but can attempt to cast multiple spells during a single phase. In other words, should a Level 2 Wizard know two Magic Missiles and one Magical Vortex (three spells), they can only cast two of them per turn, but may cast both during the same phase.
Source:
Official FAQ
What constitutes a 'move'?
Quite simply, if you touch a model or unit and change its position in any way, it has moved. There are some exceptions to this, a war machine that pivots does not count as having moved, for example, but in the vast majority of cases, the term 'move' follows the broadest definition; if a model or unit shifts its position or changes its location, it has moved.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a model that chooses to Stand & Shoot (or Fire & Flee) as a charge reaction attempt to cast a Magic Missile or Magical Vortex?
No. As stated on page 143, models that know such spells can attempt to cast them when chosen during the active player's Shooting phase. Peaps obviously, this includes Bound spells.
Source:
Official FAQ
Models that are in base contact with different enemy units can choose which to attack. When is this decision made, at the start of the combat or when the model's turn to fight comes?
When the model's turn to fight comes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Are units required to make Panic tests due to the actions of friendly models? For example, if a Wizard miscasts and rolls a 2-4 on the Miscast table, causing a Dimensional Cascade and inflicting sufficient casualties on a friendly unit to cause it to Panic, must that unit make a Panic test?
Yes (that example sounds to us like something that really would cause panic amongst the ranks!).
Source:
Official FAQ
Do special rules conferred by a model's weapon apply to attacks made by that model's mount?
No. Any rules conferred by a weapon, be it magical or mundane, apply only to attacks made with that weapon. This can include, but is not limited to, rules unique to a specific type of weapon, special rules that apply to a particular weapon, or special rules that apply to a magic weapon. For example, if a Wizard is armed with the Sword of Swiftness, attacks made with that weapon have the Strikes First special rule, but the Wizard cannot claim that wielding the weapon allows them to cast Assailment spells at Initiative 10. To give another example, if a model has a special rule unique to its faction that grants additional rules to a hand weapon (the crew of an Orc Boar Chariot have the Choppas special rule, for example), that rule applies only to actual hand weapons carried by riders or chariot crew, not to weapons belonging to mounts or draft animals that 'count as' hand weapons.
Source:
Official FAQ
Some attacks allow a specific model within a unit to be targeted. Can such an attack be used to break the coherency of a unit of Skirmishers and cause other models to be removed as well?
No. As stated on page 184, you cannot remove a model from a unit of Skirmishers if doing so would cause the unit to lose coherency. However, if an attack targets a specific model (such as a champion or a character), that model must be removed if the attack reduces it to zero Wounds. In such cases, simply replace the removed model with another model belonging to the same unit, one that could be removed as a casualty, in order to maintain unit coherency.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can my Battle Standard Bearer have a higher Leadership than my General?
No. As stated on page 203, the General is the character with the highest Leadership. If this means not upgrading the character with the highest Leadership in your army to be your Battle Standard Bearer so that they can be your General, so be it.
Source:
Official FAQ
If one participant in a challenge is killed, can other models engaged in the same combat direct their Attacks against the survivor during the same Combat phase when it is their turn to fight?
No. Even if one participant in a challenge has been slain, the challenge is considered to be ongoing until the end of the current Combat phase.
Source:
Official FAQ
Some monsters have weapons with notes that state they must make, or may choose to make, one attack, or one additional attack, with that weapon in combat. Can they make more than one attack with such weapons?
No. If it is noted on a weapon's profile that the model may or must make a specific number of attacks with that weapon, normal attacks or otherwise, that's how many attacks it makes with that weapon.
Source:
Official FAQ
Cannon do not directly target enemy models; they target a point on the ground. How does this work with Targeting Lone characters? Can a cannon be fired in such a way as to hit a Lone character that would normally be protected from shooting by their proximity to a friendly unit?
The purpose of the Targeting Lone Characters rule is to protect characters from enemy shooting, even from shooting that does not follow the usual rules (though it does not protect them from templates). Therefore, and in the spirit of this rule, unless they are the closest target to the cannon, an enemy character that is within 3" of a friendly unit that contains five or more models of the same troop type cannot be struck by a cannonball, even if their base lies directly under the path of the bouncing cannonball. However, if a Lone character's base lies directly underneath the strike point of a cannonball, they are hit.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does a combat involving a defended Low Linear Obstacle work?
Units that have moved their front arc into flush base to base contact with a Low Linear Obstacle are considered to be defending it. Enemies that charge a defending unit in their front arc make a disordered charge (unless it has Fly X), and the models of both units do not count as being in base to base contact if the defended obstacle is between them. In the case of Earthen Ramparts and Dig In, or situations where a unit “counts as” defending a Low Linear Obstacle, the “defended obstacle” applies to the front arc of the unit only and causes the same effects as above. As neither side counts as being in base to base contact with the enemy any rules that require base to contact cannot be used. This includes: Impact Hits, Stomps, the allocations of attacks to specific models like Characters or Champions, and all models calculate their number of attacks as if they were a model in the fighting rank that is not in base to base contact with the enemy.
Source:
Square Based
If my opponent and I have agreed to play a 2,000 points game but my army is not exactly 2,000 points (it's 1,997 points, for example), can I take two of something limited to 0-1 per 1,000 points by the army composition list I'm using?
Yes. Such limitations are based on the size of the game you are playing rather than the exact points value of your army.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast is obliged to declare a charge (if the unit is Frenzied or Impetuous, for example), must it do so? If so, can it make a charge move?
Earthen Ramparts does not prevent a unit from declaring a charge, it prevents it from charging. In other words, yes the unit must declare a charge if obliged to do so. However, because the unit cannot charge, it does not move at all and the charge is failed.
Source:
Official FAQ
Bearing two or more Obsidian Lodestones gives better Magic Resistance, but does an Obsidian Lodestone improve Magic Resistance granted by a different source?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
For the purposes of "Combined Arms" unit restrictions, what counts as the same unit profile? Does a Unit taken as a Character Mount count towards that Unit's total allotment?
Each named unit profile (Including embedded sub-profiles with different points costs grouped with another profile IE: General and Captain of the Empire, Empire State Troops and Veteran State Troops etc) counts a different unit profile for the purposes of Combined Arms restrictions. Character Mounts that can be selected without a Character (IE: Chariots) do not count towards the unit limit when taken as a mount.
Source:
Square Based
Can the Hagtree Fetish be used to re-roll rolls To Wound caused by a Bound Spell?
No. Bound Spells are cast by the item they are bound to, whilst Arcane Items such as the Hagtree Fetish affect spells cast by their bearer. Therefore, unless an item specifies it has an effect upon Bound Spells, it does not.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit destroys another unit after combat through the "Daemonic Instability" special rule, does the first unit get to overrun?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
Do Dwarfs hate Orc and Goblin models- or the entire faction?
They hate all models/units from the Orcs and Goblins faction. This includes if units from this faction are taken in another list. (i.e. Black Orcs taken in Chaos Dwarf lists). However it does not count against similar models that originate in other factions (i.e. Hobgoblins from Chaos Dwarfs or Gnoblars from Ogre Kingdoms). Dwarfs do not hate units from other lists taken in an Orcs and Goblins army (i.e. units taken as Mercenaries).
Source:
Square Based
A unit of Empire Road Wardens may replace its crossbows with braces of pistols for +1 point per model. If it does so, must the Captain (champion) pay an additional +2 points to do the same?
No. If the entire unit replaces its crossbows with braces of pistols, that includes the Captain. If the unit is armed with crossbows, the Captain has the option to replace theirs with a brace of pistols or a repeater pistol.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can Koil Lionmane or a Chracian Chieftain join a unit of White Lions of Chrace?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
How do skirmishers rank up against a unit in lance formation?
Skirmishers must move directly as possible to both make base contact with the lance and with other members of their unit ( p.111). The Forces of Fantasy FAQ (p. 2) states that all models in the enemy fighting rank count as being in base contact with a lance. Therefore each skirmisher moves towards the fighting rank as much as their movement allows, and the remainder are placed in the rear ranks. This means that skirmishers will usually form one long fighting rank against a lance.
Source:
Square Based
Can a Black Orc Boss take a Black Orc Chariot as a mount in an army made using the Orc and Goblin Tribes Grand Army composition list?
They cannot. With heavy hearts, we must inform everyone who asked that that option is only available in armies made using the Nomadic Waaagh! Army of Infamy composition list.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a warp lightning cannon fire in such a way that it hits friendly models?
Yes-Yes.
Source:
Square Based
Can a Casket of Souls move at the end of the Shooting phase of its turn using the Reserve Move special rule (should it have it)?
Yes. Whilst a Casket of Souls is an Immovable Object, this special rule clearly states that it prevents the model moving during the Remaining Moves sub-phase. It does not prevent movement made at other times/during other phases.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens if I wish to accept a challenge to fight a Warrior's Duel but do not have any single Wound champions in my army?
Roll-off to determine who takes the first turn as normal.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can you use Wailing Dirge after charging, or after a failed charge?
No.
Source:
Square Based
Can a Wood Elf Realms army that includes an allied contingent place an additional wood using the Woodland Ambush rule?
Yes. Note however that an allied contingent of Wood Elves taken as part of another army cannot.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens if a scatter roll causes any part of an object to cross beyond the edge of the battlefield?
The object is removed from play.
Source:
Official FAQ
Casting the same Enchantment or Hex on a unit more than once has no further effect, but what about spells with a range of 'Self' that affect all units within a certain distance of the caster?
Unless stated otherwise, such spells are not cumulative and casting them multiple times will have no further effect.
Source:
Official FAQ
What is the furthest a model can move?
No model can move more than twice its Movement characteristic or, when movement is determined by a dice roll (such as when a unit charges or flees), further than the distance rolled. There are, of course, exceptions to this, the most obvious being when a unit in Marching Column marches at triple its Movement characteristic, when models are moved by the effect of a spell, when a unit is obliged to continue its move rather than end up 'on top' of another unit, and obligatory moves (such as when a charging unit wheels to align with the enemy, or when a unit pivots before fleeing). Note that when a unit wheels, those at its rear do not really follow along, curving path, as it might appear when moving a large block of models on the table. In reality, those models would take a more direct route, following the path of the front rank and resuming their formation behind it. Accordingly, we do not measure the distance moved by models in the rear ranks of a wheeling unit. Note also that, when a unit is permitted a free manoeuvre before or after moving, this is free in that it does not count towards the move itself, but the limitation that no model can move more than twice its Movement characteristic applies within the manoeuvre.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a model use a Breath weapon after marching?
No. A model cannot shoot during the Shooting phase if it marched during the preceding Movement phase and, although they work differently to most missile weapons, Breath weapons are a type of missile weapon.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit's fighting rank is engaged with two enemy units, one of which is a lone character engaged in a challenge, can models within the unit's fighting rank ignore the character even if they are closer to it than to the other enemy unit, or are their attacks lost?
Models not engaged in a challenge cannot direct their attacks against models that are. In other words, any models that would normally have to direct their attacks against the character are free to direct them instead against the other unit their unit is engaged with.
Source:
Official FAQ
Units must make a Panic test when a nearby friendly unit with a Unit Strength of 5 or more is destroyed. When is Unit Strength counted - from the start of the turn, the start of the phase, or the point at which the unit is destroyed?
From the start of the phase during which the unit was destroyed. For example, if a friendly unit with a Unit Strength of 10 is destroyed by enemy shooting during a single Shooting phase, it causes panic in nearby friendly units. Players are not expected to remember the Unit Strength of every unit from turn to turn or phase to phase, but should keep track of Unit Strength during each phase.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does a unit that has to declare a charge due to being Frenzied or Impetuous have to do so if a friendly unit of Skirmishers lies between it and a potential charge target, obstructing its movement?
If there is a chance of the Skirmishers moving so that they are no longer an obstruction (if they declare a charge, for example), yes. Otherwise, no.
Source:
Official FAQ
How do I determine the centre of a unit of Skirmishers?
The centre is the point that is equally distant from the models at the extremities of the group. However, when considering blast templates, the purpose of placing a blast template over the centre of a unit is to ensure a significant number of models are underneath it. In the case of a unit of Skirmishers, this is not always possible. Therefore, you may place the central hole of a blast template over the model closest to the centre of a unit of Skirmishers.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit that is subject to any Leadership modifiers uses the General's Inspiring Presence rule (or any other rule that allows a unit to use the Leadership of a nearby character), does the unit ignore those modifiers?
No, the modifier will still apply. For example, if a unit loses a round of combat to a Terror causing enemy, the-1 modifier to Leadership caused by Terror applies to whichever Leadership characteristic the unit makes its Break test against, be that its own or that of a nearby character.
Source:
Official FAQ
Is Overkill counted by or against a champion in a challenge, or does it only count for characters?
Overkill counts in all challenges, whether the participants are characters or champions.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a model armed with two hand weapons choose to fight with just one hand weapon?
Yes. As noted on page 213, unless stated otherwise, all models are assumed to be equipped with a hand weapon. A model with two has, by definition, two and may choose to fight with just one, foregoing the Extra Attacks (+1) special rule in favour of some other benefit.
Source:
Official FAQ
If the Wounds characteristic of a war machine and its crew are different, which do I use to determine Unit Strength?
In such cases, use the Wounds characteristic of the crew.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can Chariots charge units that are defending a Low linear obstacle?
Yes. However they are still subject to the effects of fighting a unit that is defending a Low Linear Obstacle. In addition, they are also unable to follow up or pursue over the obstacle as it is treated as impassable. Note: abilities or effects such as "Earthen Ramparts" would not prevent a follow up or pursuit move as the obstacle moves away with the unit.
Source:
Square Based
Does an allied contingent have to abide by the restrictions given in the army composition list it is drawn from?
Yes. An allied contingent is a small army within a large army, made using a Grand Army or Army of Infamy composition list. Within a 2,000 points army, for example, an allied contingent of 500 points would have to spend at least 125 points on Core units, could spend no more than 250 points on characters, and would be unable to include any units limited to 0-1 per 1,000 points.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast make a Counter Charge charge reaction?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does a magic standard that affects a unit's weapons (the Razor Standard, for example) also make those weapons magical, giving them the Magical Attacks special rule?
Not unless the description of the magic standard in question states that the weapons of a unit carrying it gain the Magical Attacks special rule. Generally speaking, purchasing a magic item doesn't conjure up additional bonuses from the æther.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does a unit with the Blood Greed special rule always roll only a single D6 when making a Pursuit roll, or only whilst Frenzied?
Only whilst Frenzied.
Source:
Official FAQ
Do runes inscribed upon a Doomseeker's whirling blades of death apply to Impact Hits?
Yes. As stated under Whirlwind of Death, Impact Hits caused by a Doomseeker are resolved using the profile of its whirling blades of death, which includes any runes the weapon is inscribed with.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Steam Tank's steam cannon fire grapeshot?
Yes. Grapeshot can be fired by any cannon (i.e., any weapon that fires using the 'Cannon Fire' special rule), as described on page 226 of the Waammer: the Old World rulebook.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Wizard with the Warden of Saphery Elven Honour purchase magic armour?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
Do infantry units using "Press of Battle" in combat against a Lance Formation count all models in the first and second fighting rank as being in base to base?
Yes.
Source:
Square Based
If I take a Black Orc Warboss as the General of a Nomadic Waaagh!, can I take a unit of Boar Boys as a Core choice?
No. A unit of Boar Boys can only be taken as a Core choice if your General is an Orc Warboss.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can the Doomwheel fire its lightning while engaged in combat or while fleeing?
Yes
Source:
Square Based
The crew of Tomb Guard chariots are equipped with shields. Does this improve the Armour Value of the model from 4+ to 3+?
No. A chariot's given Armour Value takes into account such equipment.
Source:
Official FAQ
When fighting a Warrior's Duel challenge between two unit champions, are such things as magic standards carried by their units counted?
No. A Warrior's Duel is fought between the two participants alone, without any support from their units.
Source:
Official FAQ
The Bow of Loren allows a Wood Elf character to make a number of shots equal to their Attacks characteristic. How does this interact with Enchanted Arrows?
When firing an Enchanted Arrow it is assumed the model is firing only once, as is the norm. Therefore, one of the shots fired from the Bow of Loren can be made using an Enchanted Arrow, the other shots are resolved using ordinary (i.e., not Enchanted) arrows.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a model is required to make a Leadership test using its own Leadership characteristic, can it use the Leadership of a different model, the General for example, instead?
No. When the rules state a model must make a Leadership test using its own Leadership, it must use its own Leadership.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a Wizard has a magic item or special rule that allows them to re-roll a failed Casting roll, can they re-roll a natural double 1 and avoid a Miscast?
No. A roll of a natural double 1 isn't merely a failed Casting roll, it is a Miscast, as described on page 109.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a unit that rallies and reforms during the Rally Fleeing Units sub-phase move during the Movement phase?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Models cannot cast Magic Missiles or Magical Vortexes after marching, but does this include Bound spells?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Models in the fighting rank that are killed before they have a chance to fight cannot, but can a model make a supporting attack if the model in front of it is slain?
Yes, if they have not been killed, models able to make supporting attacks can do so as normal. In other words, casualties inflicted reduce firstly the number of models in the fighting rank that are able to fight and secondly the number of models in the 'supporting rank' that are able to fight.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can you choose not to roll for the arrival of Ambushers during your Start of Turn sub-phase?
No. Unless the unit itself or the scenario being played has a special rule that changes the way in which Ambushers arrive, you must roll for their arrival during each of your turns, from round two onwards. However, any special rules that affect the arrival of Ambushers which take effect after the Start of Turn sub-phase but before the Compulsory Moves sub-phase may be used as normal, regardless of the result of the Ambushers roll.
Source:
Official FAQ
Sometimes, when a unit of Skirmishers charges or is charged, some of the models cannot move far enough to form up with the rest of the unit. What happens to those models?
The unit loses coherency, as described on page 184. This means models belonging to the unit must be removed from play as casualties until the unit becomes coherent.
Source:
Official FAQ
If my Battle Standard Bearer refuses a challenge and retires from combat, can other units still benefit from their "Hold Your Ground" special rule?
Not whilst that character's unit is still engaged with the model that issued the challenge. A battle standard is somewhat less inspirational whilst being used as a blanket to hide beneath.
Source:
Official FAQ
Two characters are engaged in a challenge whilst their units battle around them. At the end of the round, the losing unit might Fall Back in Good Order or Give Ground. If their enemy pursues or follows up, does the challenge continue?
Yes. As stated on page 211, if both participants in a challenge survive the round and if the combat continues, the challenge continues.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a missile weapon be used in combat?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a cannon target a point on the ground if woods or a hill lies between it and that point?
No, a cannon cannot shoot over woods or hills, even if it is on a hill. However, a stone thrower can if it chooses to fire indirectly.
Source:
Official FAQ
What happens when a unit that treats a Low Linear Obstacle as Open Ground charges a unit defending a Low Linear Obstacle?
The defending unit does not get the benefits of defending a Low Linear Obstacle versus the unit with this special rule
Source:
Square Based
Do the points I spend on Core units within an allied contingent count towards the minimum percentage of Core units overall?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a unit charges an enemy unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast, must it follow all the rules for charging an enemy unit behind a defended low linear obstacle, even though there is no such physical terrain between the two units?
Yes. A unit upon which Earthen Ramparts has been cast counts as being behind a defended low linear obstacle when charged. Think of the spell's effect as representing a magically manifested obstacle, rather than a physical terrain feature.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can the wearer of the Wizarding Hat cast spells whilst wearing armour?
Yes. The wearer of the Wizarding Hat is not actually a Wizard - their magical powers are granted by a haunted hat which is not affected by any armour the model may wear.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can you use the hatred from rolling a 2 on the Darkforged weapon to re-roll hits with the Blood of Hashut?
Yes
Source:
Square Based
Can the champion in a unit of Royal Clan Warriors or Hammerers put weapon runes on a gromril great axe or great hammer?
No. Weapon runes can only be inscribed upon a hand weapon or great weapon, as defined in the Waammer: the Old World rulebook. The Royal Clan Warriors' gromril great axes and the Hammerers' great hammers are unique types of weapon, each with their own profile and rules.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Steam Tank's Engineer Commander and steam cannon both shoot during the same turn?
Yes. The Engineer Commander doesn't fire the steam cannon, imagine there's a (very hot and bothered) crew hidden away inside the Steam Tank whose endeavours leave the Engineer Commander free to fire their own weapon.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does the Martial Prowess special rule allow models to make supporting attacks with weapons that do not have the Fight in Extra Rank special rule?
No. Martial Prowess grants the ability to make supporting attacks to the flank or rear, as well as to its front. It does not grant the ability to make supporting attacks to models not normally able to do so.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does a bolt thrower work when shooting at a unit in Lance formation?
The number of models hit is based on the number of ranks overall. For example, a Lance of six knights (arranged in ranks of one, two and three models) would suffer three hits. When a Lance is shot in its flank by a bolt thrower, the number of hits is based on the widest file. To continue the example above, three models would be hit based on the depth of the unit.
Source:
Official FAQ
In a Nomadic Waaagh!, I can take one Black Orc Boss per Black Orc Chariot. If I take a Black Orc Boss mounted on a chariot, does that count?
No. You can take one Black Orc Boss per Black Orc Chariot taken as a Core or Rare choice. It does not matter what the Boss is mounted on.
Source:
Official FAQ
For the rule Verminous Valor, when exactly can the model choose to "retire to the rear of the unit?"
The model can retire to the rear of the unit at "any time" that it is engaged in combat. While the unit may still use the model's leadership, it does not confer any other benefits from special rules as if refusing a challenge. A model may not use Verminous Valor if constrained by the conditions of "Nowhere to Run" on pg 211. The model must return to the front rank once the unit is no longer engaged in the combat from which he retired.
Source:
Square Based
Can a Necrosphinx make more than one attack each turn with its Decapitating strike?
No. The decapitating strike profile must be used as noted - to make one additional attack..
Source:
Official FAQ
If a character joins a unit of Skin Wolves, can they be transfigured by the Warped Form special rule?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
The Hawk-eyed Archer rule allows a Waystalker to target any enemy character it can draw a line of sight to and to target specific models within an enemy unit. Does this apply to magic items that allow them to cast a Magic Missile?
No, the rule applies only to their Asrai longbow. Hawk-eyed they may be, but that does not mean they can snipe at enemy characters with powerful spells bound into magic items.
Source:
Official FAQ
Some single use special rules and magic items require a Leadership test to use. Do they count as having been used even if this test is failed?
Yes.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does a spell cast on a Regimental Unit affect its Detachments, or vice versa?
No, spells that affect a unit only affect the unit they are cast on.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a unit move whilst locked in combat?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a unit that is partially on a hill shoot in two ranks or draw a line of sight across other units that are not themselves on a hill?
Only with those models that are on the hill. For example, if a unit consists of twenty models in two ranks of 10 and only 5 models in each rank are on the hill, only those 10 models can claim the benefits of shooting from a hill.
Source:
Official FAQ
How many attacks can a model with a split profile make if it is in the fighting rank but not in base contact with the enemy?
A model with a split profile consists of not one model, but several, all sharing the same base. Therefore, each model on that base could make a single attack. In the case of a cavalry model, for example, this would be one attack from the rider and one from their mount.
Source:
Official FAQ
Does the Armour Bane (X) special rule apply to spells cast by a model with the rule, such as Assailment spells, Magic Missiles or Magical Vortexes?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
How does a unit of Skirmishers form up when charged by two or more different enemy units from different directions?
The Skirmishers should form up against the first charging unit to move into contact with them. The remaining enemy units then charge the formed Skirmishers. If any units are unable to complete their charge moves, their charges are failed.
Source:
Official FAQ
When a character takes a chariot as a mount, do they replace one of the crew?
No. The points you pay for a chariot include its crew, whether that chariot is included in your army on its own or as a mount for a character. However, in reality it might prove difficult to fit a character and the full complement of crew into the chariot model itself. If so, it is perfectly acceptable to remove one or more of the crew models to make space for the character. In such cases, we can think of the missing crew model's profile(s) as a way of representing that the beasts pulling a character's chariot are bound to be bigger, stronger and better trained than normal.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a Wizard engaged in a challenge knows and uses an Assailment spell that can hit multiple enemy models (such as Assailment spells that use a template), are multiple enemy models hit, or is it only the other participant in the challenge that can be hit?
When an Assailment spell is cast in a challenge, it can only hit the other participant in the challenge.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a cannon target a point on the ground if another unit lies between it and that point?
Not unless that cannon is on a hill and the unit is not. However, as above, a stone thrower can if it chooses to fire indirectly.
Source:
Official FAQ
The rulebook lists the minimum size of battlefield as 30" x 44" for games of up to 1,000 points, 44" x 60" for 1,001 to 3,000 points and 44" x 90" for games of 3,001 points or above. Do we have to use these sizes?
No. These are the minimum recommended sizes. The normal size battlefield for a game of between 2,000 and 3,000 points is 48" x 72" (4' x 6') and players are encouraged to use this. The minimum sizes are based on the folding card battlefields Games Workshop produces. These are ideal when space is an issue or for smaller games. For example, we prefer a 44" x 60" battlefield for a game of 1,000 or 1,500 points, rather than the more traditional 48" x 48" battlefield. We find the smaller, rectangular shape more pleasing.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can the spell Spectral Doppelganger from the Lore of Illusion be used with a magic weapon that allows the wielder to make only a single attack?
No. Weapons limited to a single attack can only inflict a single hit.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can the wearer of the Wizarding Hat also wear a magic helmet, such as the Bedazzling Helm?
Yes, because one is an enchanted item, the other is a type of magic armour, but we hope anyone equipping a model in such a way would make the effort to depict it wearing two hats!
Source:
Official FAQ
If I give armour runes to an Anvil of Doom, does the Anvil itself benefit, or just the crew?
Just the crew.
Source:
Official FAQ
Are unsaved wounds caused by the mount of a model bearing the Laurels of Victory worth 2 combat result points?
No, only unsaved wounds caused by the bearer (the rider) count.
Source:
Official FAQ
When do you place your additional difficult terrain from the "Warriors of the Wilderness" rule?
After deciding the sides, but before deploying any unit.
Source:
Square Based
Can a character with the Shield of the Lady special rule retire to the rear of their unit after issuing a challenge, enabling them to avoid their opponent's attacks?
No. Once a challenge has been issued and accepted neither combatant can retire until the challenge is resolved. Chivalry demands it.
Source:
Official FAQ
Can a Troll Hag be the General of an Orc and Goblin Tribes army made using the Grand Army composition list?
No. A Troll Hag is a Rare choice in the Orc and Goblin Tribes Grand Army composition list. She can, however, be the General of a Troll Horde.
Source:
Official FAQ
Are the effects of the Casket of Souls' Bound spell 'Light of Protection' cumulative?
No.
Source:
Official FAQ
If a character with the Mark of Nurgle (for example) is mounted on a chariot with the Mark of Chaos Undivided, does the chariot benefit from the character's Mark, or do I have to pay the points to give the chariot the Mark of Nurgle for it to gain the same benefits?
If you want a chariot mount to have the same benefits from a Mark of Chaos that its rider has, you have to pay the points to give the chariot the Mark of Chaos.
Source:
Official FAQ